South Africa Squad for India 2023: Temba Bavuma for white-ball series, Aiden Markram to lead | Cricket News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: South Africa have opted to rest skipper Temba Bavuma for their home white-ball series against India following a challenging Cricket World Cup performance.
Bavuma, who admitted to not being 100% fit during the World Cup, will, however, lead the team in the two-Test series beginning on December 26.
Aiden Markram will captain both the Twenty20 and One Day International (ODI) sides against India, potentially taking on a dual role in the future.Why Bavuma is rested
Bavuma struggled in the World Cup, averaging only 18.12 across eight games with a high score of 35. As a result, he has been rested for the white-ball series to allow him time to recover and prepare for the Test matches.
Quinton de Kock, who retired from ODIs at the end of the World Cup, will be unavailable for the T20 series but is set to play for the Melbourne Renegades in Australia’s Big Bash competition. Markram will take on the captaincy duties in his absence.
New faces in the squads

  • The Test squad includes new faces, with batters David Bedingham and Tristan Stubbs earning their first call-ups.
  • Fast bowler Nandre Burger is also included in the squads across all three formats.
  • Wicketkeeper-batter Kyle Verreynne and all-rounder Wiaan Mulder make their returns to the Test and ODI squads.

Rabada rested from limited-overs series
However, premier fast bowler Kagiso Rabada will be rested from the limited-overs games to participate in domestic four-day cricket and prepare for the Test matches.
Gerald Coetzee, Lungi Ngidi, and Marco Jansen are also omitted from the ODIs for the same reason.
South Africa coach’s take on the squad
Test coach Shukri Conrad expressed optimism about the squad, stating, “We have a near full-strength (test) squad to pick from, and that in itself is a real boost for us. It is the start of a new ICC World Test Championship cycle, and that itself is a huge incentive for everyone.”
The Itinerary

  • India’s tour will commence with three T20 matches from December 10-14, followed by three ODIs between December 17-21.
  • The first Test starting on December 26 in Pretoria, with the second scheduled for January 3 at Newlands in Cape Town.

BCCI ends speculations, retains Rahul Dravid as India’s head coach alongside support staff

South Africa squads for the series
T20 squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs and Lizaad Williams.
ODI squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne and Lizaad Williams.
Test squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs and Kyle Verreynne.
(With inputs from Reuters)


Source link